gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975767 Posts in 138935 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie October 05, 2024, 11:24 AM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  BMX General  |  BMX Chat  |  Future of BMX
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Future of BMX  (Read 1814 times)

Bushwacked

Future of BMX
« on: January 22, 2009, 02:07 PM »
I'm quite new to BMX so don't have a great handle on the past but was thinking - How do we think BMX will develop in the future, especially now it is an Olympic sport?

From what I can see...

- Skateparks are opening, some are closing, some are expanding into purpose built facilities

- There are some big tracks being built round the country

- Cycling generally is getting more coverage on TV bringing it more into the mainstream.

- But BMX is still regarded by the masses as a minority sport for the under 20s.

I've not got a clue on what things will be like in 5-10 years time but I like to think that it will be a growth sport - but what do you guys think especially those who have grown up with BMX in their lifes and have seen the highs and lows?

dialledbikes

Re: Future of BMX
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2009, 02:25 PM »
Having racing in the Olympics will obviously open more doors for people at the highest level to make a career out of it, but I think BMX will always be a minority sport which is seen as more of a teenagers/kids sport than an adult sport.

Doesn't bother me in the slightest though as minority sports are the ones that tend to attract people who are really into them.  People will always jump on the bandwagon but they don't tend to stick around for long if the passion isn't there.

There's talk of vert/freestyle becoming an Olympic sport (or replacing racing after 2012), but to be honest, I think vert/freestyle is better off without the Olympics.

Bushwacked

« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2009, 03:19 PM »