gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975644 Posts in 138929 Topics by 6348 Members - Latest Member: Dannygee July 04, 2024, 10:17 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  New School BMX 2004 - Now  |  New School Park, Street & Dirt  |  Tyre pressures?
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Tyre pressures?  (Read 1847 times)

Bushwacked

Tyre pressures?
« on: July 15, 2008, 04:51 PM »
Hi!

I'm new to this BMX lark and people keep telling me that tyre pressures are so important - the MTB world I'm from its important but you run pressures so much lower - 30-40psi rather than 80-100psi everyone keeps recommending.

What is the difference with tyres on a BMX with say 80psi or 100psi? I'd like to run the pressures a bit lower to get some more give in the tyres (My ankles are killing from landing heavily) but will this have a knock on effect and I find my tyres roll off the rims??  :-\

Cheers.

B

JT71

Re: Tyre pressures?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2008, 04:59 PM »
harder they are the less likely to "squidge" under you, esp on ramps n stuff.

I think that the reason.

also you don't lose speed or momentum so easily, therefore it take's less energy to keep going.

magna13

« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2008, 05:33 PM »
60 psi for me  :daumenhoch: :daumenhoch:

Bushwacked

« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2008, 05:40 PM »
60 psi!!!!  :shocked:

That seems low - but you running fine on that pressure?

magna13

« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2008, 05:43 PM »
 :daumenhoch: :daumenhoch:, Perfecto!

Offline kev-s

• 900 Air
  • I bought a site tag and my girth increased by 10%
  • Rated:
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2008, 05:45 PM »