gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 23, 2024, 04:18 AM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Top tube length
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Top tube length  (Read 1616 times)

Bushwacked

Top tube length
« on: May 15, 2008, 08:16 PM »
I'm 6ft (just) and looking at possibly getting a BMX with a 20.5 TT, but have been told a 20.75 would be more suitable - does it really make that much difference? I'm new to this lark so not sure how much difference it will make.

SaMAlex

Re: Top tube length
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2008, 08:20 PM »
21 minimum really for a 6 ft'er  :daumenhoch:

It makes a big difference, you would notice if you tried both out. If the shorter one is a killer deal then maybe go for it ... but you will wanna change it sooner or later.

2unfit2ride

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2008, 08:53 PM »
I'm 6' & bought a mongoose expert thingy with a 20.5 TT, as I'm a tart it lasted about five minutes before I sold it & bought a bike with a 21" tt, I haven't really ridden it yet, but just getting on it & riding around the block a few times it feels so much longer & less cramped.
Maybe try a few out for size in a decent shop first???

Bushwacked

« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2008, 10:23 PM »
Hmm, I'm used to a mountain bike so not sure what too look out for on size with BMX's

Any recommendations on starter bikes with that size TT?

2unfit2ride

« Reply #4 on: May 15, 2008, 10:34 PM »
Hmm, I'm used to a mountain bike so not sure what too look out for on size with BMX's

Any recommendations on starter bikes with that size TT?

What kind of budget?

£3-400 will get you something half decent, I bought an Easton Jane mainly based on it TT length, its looks, & its component looked good for the money.

Just wait for the Colney recommendations  ;)

Bushwacked

« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 11:30 AM »