gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 23, 2024, 08:28 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Fitting a Sealed BB
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Fitting a Sealed BB  (Read 977 times)

madmaxusm

Fitting a Sealed BB
« on: February 14, 2008, 10:19 AM »
Just wondered if fitting a sealed BB was the same as fitting a loose bearing one.

When tightening the screws on the sealed BB do you do just the same as on a loose bearing model ie. Tighten up until you loose all play in the bearings but not too much that the crank won't trun freely.

Any help much appreciated.

Offline pickle

• Site Supporter
  • My life is Radbmx
  • Rated:
Re: Fitting a Sealed BB
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 10:22 AM »
i'm no expert on these things but i think it might be diferent depending on crank and BB??

what crank and BB is it?  piccies will help too  :daumenhoch:

madmaxusm

« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 10:36 AM »
This is the crank and sealed BB :

Offline pickle

• Site Supporter
  • My life is Radbmx
  • Rated:
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2008, 10:41 AM »
i've never fitted one of these before....but do they not require a spacer in the middle so you don't crush the barings?

Rooonga

« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2008, 11:11 AM »
Yeh looks similar to the profile bb set. Will need a spacer between the bearings.

I used a small bit of 22mm copper tubing cut down to size on a set that didn't come with the spacer. Nice fit, and keeps the bearings spinning properly.

madmaxusm

« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2008, 11:35 AM »
Hi

Found this pics and the kit does not come with a spacer by the look of things...how long should the spacer be ?

Offline TwoBobRob

• Site Supporter
  • 900 Air
  • Rated:
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2008, 11:40 AM »
Two ways to do this.