gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 21, 2024, 06:00 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  skyway tuff 2 purchase advice needed!
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: skyway tuff 2 purchase advice needed!  (Read 1277 times)

Offline catman79

• Curb Endo
  • Rated:
skyway tuff 2 purchase advice needed!
« on: January 27, 2016, 08:44 AM »
hi all,
im looking at purchasing these original tuff 2's from the states, they are apparently straight and true, spin very freely. looks like the front has had a rebuild at some point as its held together by the nuts and bolts from a rebuild kit. free wheel is missing a tooth and they look a little faded. now im new to the old school thing (bar actually riding them back in the day) just need some advice on what to look for on them, bearings are not sealed, not sure if this is correct? what kind of money should i be paying, and how easy are they to restore? ive added pics below. any halp /advice would be greatly appreciated.
apologies for all the questions, want to make sure i do it right!
thanks in advance
chris.

Offline Gnarlyscoots

• Riding with Stabilisers
  • BANNED
  • Rated:
Re: skyway tuff 2 purchase advice needed!
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2016, 09:28 AM »
Looking at the pictures, I am assuming they are blue  ???

To break a tooth on a freewheel is extremely hard to do, so I would say they have had a hard time at one point in their lives. Either that, or someone has tried to remove it somehow and broken the tooth off.

70's, 80's and 90's Tuffs did not run sealed bearings, so these hubs are from the era you want them. The fact the rear is stilled riveted in also states it is early 80's with a freewheel hub, not coaster.