gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 23, 2024, 08:20 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Hutch Trickstar Restoration query
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Hutch Trickstar Restoration query  (Read 1109 times)

Hutch71

Hutch Trickstar Restoration query
« on: December 07, 2012, 11:08 AM »
Hi.

I'm new to any sort of forum really. I have a question about my Hutch Trickstar and wondered if anyone can help steer me.

It's original red, with original cranks, but am wondering about a respray or being chrome dipped. I've also got original Tuff II's (green!), but would sell those off I think to get some white ones.
I've got MKS Graphite pedals.

My question is what's the best route to go down. A full and proper restore to factory spec or a more personalised rebuild? Is it valued by the sum of it's parts or more so to keeping true to it's original spec?

Where is good to get the restore done too? I'm in Essex...

Cheers in advance...
« Last Edit: December 07, 2012, 01:45 PM by Hutch71 »

Offline mattbloke

• Curb Endo
  • Rated:
Re: Hutch Trickstar Restoration query
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2012, 11:16 AM »
welcome to the forum fella.

first things first.

1. put up some pictures. a decent survivor (original) may be more appealing to some, and it may not be in bad nick.

2. ask yourself what you want to do with it. is it to relive your youth/nostalgia? or is it for an investment/make some cash.

3. if you go down the resto route, do you want it to be something you can ride to the pub etc, or a show condition bike as the difference in cost of the two could be substantial

Al Wyn

« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2012, 11:18 AM »
Welcome to the forum...id say go original on it bud...Essex you say Dans your man http://www.radbmx.co.uk/forum/index.php'topic=56789.0 hth :daumenhoch:

ozone