gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 21, 2024, 03:33 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Noob question on OPC Crown Removal
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Noob question on OPC Crown Removal  (Read 1028 times)

Clean

Noob question on OPC Crown Removal
« on: June 06, 2012, 06:43 PM »
RADsters,

Alright, I may not be a Noob here anymore, but I am stripping my first OPC down, so in that sense I am a Noob, I guess?  :idiot2:

So, I need some input, please:

1. Which way do you screw the Drive Side Bearing Crown to undo it and remove it from the OPC?  ???

2. Is the Crown separate to the Hex adjacent to the inside of the Drive Side, or is it all one piece?  :-\

3. How the fook do you do it without an appropriately sized flat spanner to fit onto the Hex between the Crown and Spider?  :'(

4. Where the fook do you get an appropriately sized flat spanner if there is no answer to question 3 above?  :tickedoff:

Help, please, peeps?  :angel:

Thanks,

Clean.

Rodgy1970

Re: Noob question on OPC Crown Removal
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2012, 08:52 PM »
Is this a standard looseball opc bottom bracket you taking a part  :-\

If so the hex nut and the race are separate and are both left hand thread so righty loosey - lefty tighty.

The race on the spider side is right hand thread so righty tighty - left loosey.

Large adjustable spanner, alligator wrench or mole grips.

Offline oldtired

• 540 Air
  • Dirty Old Man
  • Rated:
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2012, 01:13 AM »
ffs Rich   its dead easy

1   Go to the Boardroom on a suspects night

2   Give it to Spen quoting the phrase  " Sort that fooker out for us me old fruit "   

Righty Tighty,   Lefty Loosey   :LolLolLolLol:      always makes me chuckle  :daumenhoch:

Offline rick1970

• Look Back
  • Rated:
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2012, 01:24 AM »