gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 22, 2024, 03:27 PM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Home Polishing Advice
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Home Polishing Advice  (Read 3265 times)

hooga1975

Home Polishing Advice
« on: February 15, 2012, 11:10 AM »
I have a few items that I want to polish, but I have never done it before.

I have seen some kits on ebay that will go into an electric drill.  Has anybody used this type before and are they any good?

If anyone could point me in the right direction or give me some advice that would be great.

Deano

Re: Home Polishing Advice
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2012, 11:28 AM »
Mate it depends on how big the parts are you want to polish and if they are ready to polish ie sanded down enough or smooth enough.

As for polishing kits i use Thepolishingshop.co.uk and buy the 3 stage kits as they are a good enough kit to start with imo. Think there about £11 for 3 mops and 3 bars of soap (polishing compound)

If parts need sanded before polish i normally sand from 240 grit up to 2000 then polish with Autosol then mops then Peek p[olish for the final mirror hit.
Thats basics :daumenhoch: one thing ill say is you have to make it look worse before it gets better, dont be scared just go for it as long as you dont take any stamps or cast marks of the parts so they still keep there original look.  8)

hooga1975

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2012, 11:33 AM »
Good advice there Deano.  I didnt realise the items need sanding before polishing!  I would have been disapointed had I not asked the question :daumenhoch:

ozone

« Reply #3 on: February 15, 2012, 01:42 PM »
Mate it depends on how big the parts are you want to polish and if they are ready to polish ie sanded down enough or smooth enough.