gfxgfx

logo

gfx gfx
gfx
975755 Posts in 138933 Topics by 6360 Members - Latest Member: TattooedYorkie September 22, 2024, 06:44 AM
gfx* Home | Portal | Forum | Merchandise | Help | Login | Register | gfx
gfx
RADBMX.CO.UK  |  Technical & Reference Section  |  Tech and Restoration  |  Much needed polishing tips.....
gfx
gfxgfx

Author Topic: Much needed polishing tips.....  (Read 959 times)

Offline kungfunky

• Team Moderator
  • Tail Whip
  • Rated:
Much needed polishing tips.....
« on: January 17, 2011, 02:34 PM »
recently got my hands on a very very old polishing wheel set up, the type an old boy bolted together in his shed....So I've stardet to give a few things the once over for the first time ever and some much needed advice is required...
Just started work on this DB carnk and there are some hammer marks on the top of the arm..can these be "polished or smoothed out" ?...also there are 1 or 2 chips,..
whats the best way to sort these out?...
total newb on the polishing front..

WANTED....FRED BLOOD QUADANGLE FRAME..

Offline brettypeeps

• Team Admin / Mechanic
  • My life is Radbmx
    • Bretts Bikes
  • Rated:
Re: Much needed polishing tips.....
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2011, 02:40 PM »
I would leave the dents in.  They will polish out but you will have to lose a fair bit of metal though  :daumenhoch:

Offline kungfunky

• Team Moderator
  • Tail Whip
  • Rated:
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2011, 02:48 PM »
Think I will have to..as for the dings, whats best to smooth those out..some 400 paper or something a little more coarse ?.

Offline Spen69

• Site Supporter
  • Tail Whip
  • It was less than TWELVE parsecs.... .
  • Rated:
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2011, 02:53 PM »
Ash, when you & Kam are up in Sheffield next we can step into my shed and polish away while the girls are goo-ga-goo-goo with my kids ;-)

Patience is the secret which is why I'm not very good yet!
Still limping......

Offline kungfunky

• Team Moderator
  • Tail Whip
  • Rated: